What is TBT 2017?


By: TBT Staff | @thetournament

Hearing about The Basketball Tournament for the first time? Welcome!


  • TBT is open to anyone. From professionals to former college stars to YMCA heroes.
  • A 64 team field played in 4 regions of 16 (Northeast, South, Midwest, West). Check out the full bracket here.
  • The final four teams standing are Boeheim's Army (Syracuse Alumni) (Northeast), Overseas Elite (South), Team Challenge ALS (West), and Scarlet & Gray (The Ohio State University alumni) (Midwest).

THE $2,000,000 PRIZE

  • TBT returns for a fourth year with a $2 Million winner takes all grand prize, double the amount from 2015, and four times more than 2014’s prize.
  • The top 100 fans of the winning team will split $200k (10% of the ​the total prize).


  • TBT’s application period ran from April 1 to June 1 on TheTournament.com
  • Teams gained entry by being one of the top vote getters in each region (who received "automatic" bids), getting an at-large bid, by being a regional champion the previous year, by participating in a previous TBT Championship Game, or via an automatic bid from one of last year's Bracket Challenge winners. 
  • Registered fans voted for the teams they liked and supported; up to 4 votes per fan.
  • Fans accrued points by getting their friends and family to join them in voting.


  • Las Vegas, Bradley University, Philadelphia, and Charlotte hosted regional rounds.
  • Upon registering, teams can apply to any region they choose.
  • Brooklyn hosted the Super 16 & Regional Championships.
  • Baltimore hosts the Semifinals and Championship .



  • TBT’s 2016 field included hundreds of players who have competed at the highest levels all over the world.
  • Overseas Elite, a team of veteran international professional players, won last year’s $2 Million winner-take-all title.
  • Overseas Elite also won the $1 Million winner-take-all-title in 2015.
  • TBT 2014’s Championship was won by the Notre Dame Fighting Alumni, an alumni team featuring many of the best basketball players to ever play for the University of Notre Dame.
  • Over 300 teams applied to join the field last year. Players must be 18 years of age or older to compete.
  • University-based alumni teams representing schools like Syracuse University, Ohio State, Marquette, Iona, South Florida, Ole Miss, Iowa State, Michigan State, Notre Dame, Villanova, Virginia, Colorado, Bradley, Temple, LaSalle, Boston College, VCU, Kansas State, Kentucky, Gonzaga, Memphis, Pitt, Bucknell, and others have competed in TBT.